I have an SFI 3.2A/15 firesuit, but the class I want to compete in only requires an SFI 3.2A/5. Can I use my SFI 3.2A/15 firesuit?
Yes, per page xv of the 2012 NHRA Rulebook: Additional safety equipment or safety-enhancing equipment is always permitted and the levels of safety equipment stated in this Rulebook are minimum prescribed levels for a particular type of competition and do not prohibit the individual racer from using additional safety equipment. Participants are encouraged to investigate the utility of additional safety devices for your type of competition. In disputed cases, whether an item of equipment is safety-enhancing or performance-enhancing will be determined by NHRA in NHRA’s sole and absolute discretion.